Advocacy

HFGF is a the legislative voice for the bleeding disorders community.  We travel annually to Tallahassee and Washington D.C. to represent our families and talk to our legislators about issues that affect the bleeding disorders community.

The Bleeding Disorders Coalition of Florida (BDCF) encourages our families to get to know your local legislators and stay in touch with them throughout the year.  As constiuents, your legislators work for you and should listen to your concerns.

Click here for a list of Florida Senators and their contact information.

Click here for a list of Florida Representatives and their contact information.


BDCF stormed Tallahassee on April 17 (World Hemophilia Day!) and 18 to advocate on behalf of the bleeding disorders community supporting step therapy bills and opposing short term insurance plans.  We also educated legislators on bleeding disorders and treatment.  Click on photo below to view full album of our visit.


LEGISLATOR HIGHLIGHTS: Learn about your Florida legislators here and on HFGF social media.  They want you to know what initiatives they support that affect the bleeding disorders community.

Representative Slosberg has dedicated her career to public service and safety advocacy. The Dori Slosberg Foundation was named in memory of her sister, Dori Slosberg, also daughter of Former State Representative Irving Slosberg, whose life was tragically ended when the car she was in crashed while she was unbuckled. Representative Emily Slosberg, along with her father, worked tirelessly to bring together issues and individuals concerned with safety on all major roadways in Florida. The Representative has been known to be very much involved in many organizations in Palm Beach County. Her involvement and service to the community include such organizations as the Young Democrats, the West Palm Beach Democrats, League of Women Voters, and National Organization of Women, all of which has allowed her to build relationships with other community leaders. All of these partnerships are allowing Representative Slosberg to have an immediate impact, ensuring a better quality of life for her constituents and the residents of Florida.  Representative Slosberg has assumed the office in District 91, encompassing Delray Beach, Boca Raton, and some parts of Boynton Beach. During this current Session, she is keeping true to her public safety roots by filing a Texting While Driving Bill and a number of initiatives that benefit her predominately senior constituency.

Senator Lori Berman was elected to the Florida Senate in 2018 and has served in the Florida House of Representatives from 2010 through 2018. As a Representative, she was the Chair of the Women’s Legislative Caucus and Chair of the Palm Beach County Delegation.  Throughout her tenure in the Florida Legislature, Lori advocates to ensure all Floridians have quality health care, that Florida’s educational system is properly funded, that woman’s rights are protected, that Florida supports alternative and renewable energy, and that Florida’s number one priority remains economic prosperity for all Floridians. Now serving in the Senate, Lori is on the leadership team in the Senate Minority as the Democratic Whip for the 2018-2020 term. She is also the Vice Chair of the Health Policy Committee and sits on the Education Committee, the Environment and Natural Resources Committee as well as the Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Environment and General Government. She represents the citizens of Palm Beach County and Florida in the Senate.

Representative Anthony Sabatini, District 32, was elected to the FL House of Representatives in 2018. Rep. Sabatini has previously clerked for then Chief Judge Alan Lawson, who now is a Justice of the FL Supreme Court and has also served as an Eustis City Commissioner until he resigned in 2018 to run for the Florida House of Representatives. In only his first term in office, 4 of his 6 bills passed the FL House, on the subjects of ethics reform, alcohol deregulation, restraining local government, and medical marijuana.

Representative Toby Overdorf has been a Treasure Coast resident for over twenty years, and represents District 83 in the Florida House of Representatives.  He has served in the following leadership roles: President of the Palm City Chamber of Commerce, on the Board of Directors of Leadership Florida, and a member of the St. Lucie County Economic Development Council, among many other state and regional leadership positions.  Representative Overdorf serves on the following committees: Commerce; Higher Education & Career Readiness; Higher Education Appropriations; Local, Federal & Veterans Affairs; and Transportation & Infrastructure.

Representative Shevrin D. Jones, District 101, was elected to the Florida House of Representative in 2012. When not serving in his capacity as a State Legislator, Representative Jones supports statewide literacy as the Executive Director of Florida Reading Corps and empowers youth through his organization, L.E.A.D. Nation. Representative Jones received his B.S degree in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology at Florida A&M University and his Master’s Degree in Higher Education Leadership at Florida Atlantic University. He is now pursuing his Ph.D. at Florida Atlantic University. He has proudly passed legislation to provide feminine hygiene products to women in correctional facilities and passed statewide needle exchange legislation.

Representative Tommy Gregory is a Sarasota Republican representing House District 73, Manatee and Sarasota Counties and was first elected in 2018. During his first session, Gregory filed a bill allowing small employers to collectively bargain for health plans to increase purchasing power. The bill also provides a safety net for Floridians with pre-existing conditions by prohibiting insurers from denying coverage based on their medical conditions.


***ADVOCACY ALERT*** -  April 22, 2019

Download the Florida Medicaid Expansion Petition Form to put Medicaid expansion on the ballot for 2020.  You must print out the form and send to Florida Decides Healthcare, Inc., P.O. Box 15415, Coral Gables, FL 33114.  Petitions must be submitted by January 1, 2010.


***ADVOCACY ALERT***

HB 559, the fail first bill by Representative Massullo has been added to the agenda for the Health Market Reform Subcommittee on Tuesday, March 19 at 3:30 pm.In advance of the committee meeting on Tuesday, please be sure to email and call members of the committee to share your support for the legislation.  Legislator contact information is listed below.

Draft Talking Points on Patient Access

  • Thank you so much for working to ensure Florida’s patients remain happy and healthy.
  • I wanted to express our strong support to expand and strengthen the patient protections currently in Florida statute.
  • On behalf of Florida’s most vulnerable citizens, we are seeking your leadership and legislative action to ensure patients have access to the right medication at the most appropriate time without jumping through hurdles from an insurance company.
  • Our physicians have the expertise to know what is best for patients and must have access to a full range of therapeutic options to use as they see fit. They should not have to jump through burdensome bureaucratic hoops to secure the most appropriate therapy.  Ultimately, healthcare professionals, not bureaucrats, should make the determination of the best course of treatment and medications for a patient.
  • We need to ensure Florida’s patients are receiving the right medicine at the right time.
  • Respectfully, we ask that the legislator and fellow members, support House Bill 559 this legislative session by co-sponsoring the legislation and supporting it in committee.
Last Name First Name Local Phone Email Address Staff
Pigman Cary (850) 717-5055 Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov Brandon.Miller@myfloridahouse.gov; Justin.Morgan@myfloridahouse.gov; Maura.Palmer@myfloridahouse.gov
Fitzenhagen Heather (850) 717-5078 Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov Derick.Tabertshofer@myfloridahouse.gov; Melissa.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov
Good Margaret (850) 717-5072 Margaret.Good@myfloridahouse.gov Elizabeth.Wilson@myfloridahouse.gov; Kay.Mathers@myfloridahouse.gov
Casello Joseph (850) 717-5090 Joseph.Casello@myfloridahouse.gov Clint.Streicher@myfloridahouse.gov; Johnny.McMahon@myfloridahouse.gov
Duran Nicholas X. (850) 717-5112 Nicholas.Duran@myfloridahouse.gov Roberto.Alvarez@myfloridahouse.gov; Yolanda.Abrams@myfloridahouse.gov
Fernandez Javier E. (850) 717-5114 Javier.Fernandez@myfloridahouse.gov Maria.Lombard@myfloridahouse.gov; Ria.Khan@myfloridahouse.gov
Grant (M) Michael (850) 717-5075 Michael.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov Cynthia.Beckett@myfloridahouse.gov; Jim.Browne@myfloridahouse.gov
Ingoglia Blaise (850) 717-5035 Blaise.Ingoglia@myfloridahouse.gov Ashley.Hofecker@myfloridahouse.gov; Heidi.Coykendall@myfloridahouse.gov
Leek Thomas J. ''Tom'' (850) 717-5025 Tom.Leek@myfloridahouse.gov Lynnette.Phillips@myfloridahouse.gov; Stephanie.Benedict@myfloridahouse.gov
McClure Lawrence (850) 717-5058 Lawrence.McClure@myfloridahouse.gov amy.carpenter@myfloridahouse.gov; kyle.langan@myfloridahouse.gov
Omphroy Anika Tene (850) 717-5095 Anika.Omphroy@myfloridahouse.gov
Rommel Bob (850) 717-5106 Bob.Rommel@myfloridahouse.gov Kim.Timm@myfloridahouse.gov; Priscilla.Grannis@myfloridahouse.gov
Toledo Jackie (850) 717-5060 Jackie.Toledo@myfloridahouse.gov Brianna.Harvey@myfloridahouse.gov; Clayton.Clemens@myfloridahouse.gov
Tomkow Josie (850) 717-5039 Josie.Tomkow@myfloridahouse.gov Barbara.Blasingame@myfloridahouse.gov; Robyn.Bryant@myfloridahouse.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


CHANGE THEIR WORLD. CHANGE YOURS. THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING.